Welcome back to The Record Labels, where every month, we tell you a little about an independent label we dig when it comes to new music. Last month you heard about Vancouver’s Mint Records. Today, we’re back with Toronto’s Safe Sounds Collective.

The label was founded in 2017 after Will Bembridge moved into an apartment in Toronto with a real vault – the building used to be a bank, back in the day. It has since become a regular rehearsal and recording space. The collective was set up as a cassette-based label – in addition to physical releases, they also hold live sessions from the bank vault.

Their very first release was RUM DO‘s Lay Down, Lovers EP. Over the last few years, the label has had 11 releases, plus many sessions and remixes from the likes of World News, Loji and Bill Cutbill. We’re really digging their latest find Theo Vandenhoff … you must check out Heartache Is An Empty Room. Next up for the collective … O by Idious Carrie will be out sometime in the near future.

Below, you’ll find a hand-picked playlist (by The iM and SS) of our favourite songs from the label to start your week off proper. And, while we have your attention, be sure to hit up their socials for more.

If you dig this, check out “The Record Labels – Mint”